Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Why the keys of the temple of the Holy Sepulcher are kept by the Muslims?

Holy Sepulcher in Jerusalem is divided between six Christian denominations: Catholic, Greek Orthodox, Armenian, Coptic, Ethiopian, and Syrian. Confessions secured for different parts of the complex, but some parts are used in sequence, for example, Edicule, where the liturgy at the Holy Sepulchre. Historically, this division has often been a source of conflict between faiths, therefore, from the 12th century to the present day, the keys of the church are kept in the Arab-Muslim family Judah, and the right of every day to open and close the church is reserved for another Arab family Nusseibeh.

No comments:

Post a Comment